What is an Astronomer, Astrophysicist and Cosmologist

meteorshowerThe Roles of Science

Tonight I was watching “How the Universe Works” when I noticed the title of one of the experts was astronomer. It made me wonder what is the difference between an astronomer and an astrophysicist. Then I thought about cosmologist. I went on a search to see if I could find the difference and I found a great description that really cleared it up for me. It was written on a message board and I posted it here to share it with others who are wondering the same thing.

Astronomers do the observational part: they look out into the universe through a telescope, and classify what they see. Astrophysicists will then try to explain these observations using the known physical laws, which is what has led to our understanding of the inner workings of stars. Finally, cosmologists will try to explain the evolution of the universe as a whole: how did the big bang happen, and how did the universe evolve into what it is today. –
jabirali Nov 22 ’14

© 2013 Spyderwolf's Galaxy, All Rights Reserved. Spyderwolf's Hanko.
© 2015 Spyderwolf’s Galaxy. All Rights Reserved. Spyderwolf.

